Russell Morris

Russell Morris

ARIA Hall of Fame inductee, #1 selling artist, King of Pop, Australian Icon!! … a few phrases commonly used when describing Aussie legend Russell Morris.

Shooting to fame in the middle 60’s with ‘Somebody’s Image’, Russell had a string of hits including ‘Hush’ and the Bob Dylan classic ‘Baby Blue’. In 1969 he and producer Molly Meldrum released ‘The Real Thing’, Australia’s only true psychedelic #1 hit and a song that is played regularly on commercial radio to this day. Following that, Russell penned breakthrough hits such as – ‘Sweet Sweet Love’, ‘Wings of an Eagle’, ‘Rachel’, ‘Part 3 Into Paper Walls’, ‘The Girl That I Love’ and many many more.

Constantly in demand, Russell still tours nationally throughout the year as well as appearing internationally. He’s worked alongside industry heavyweights like Cher, The Bee Gees, Linda Ronstadt, The Beach Boys and toured Australia with the hugely successful “Long Way To The Top” in 2012.

The past five years have been an incredible musical journey and privilege for Russell Morris who has been fortunate enough to create and release two albums of blues and roots music that pertains to some of the iconic characters, events and moments in our rich tapestry of Australian history. The two previous albums were produced by Mitch Cairns, with whom Russell works and creates harmoniously with.

The first album released was Sharkmouth. Sharkmouth was all about the urban back blocks and the characters that inhabited them. Mostly based around the depression years and a bit either side. Set out to paint a landscape of how many people must have felt in those times around the early 1900’s. Sharkmouth went on to be the highest selling Australian album of 2013, picking up an ARIA Award for best Blues and Roots, reaching number 1 in the charts and surpassing Platinum sales. A very unexpected but welcomed success.

The following album was Van Diemen’s Land which had a focus on larger events rather than individuals, from the prison ships that began Australia as a penal settlement to the union strikes, the First and Second World Wars as well as paddle steamers on the Murray River. Van Diemen’s Land was nominated for Best Blues and Roots at the 2014 ARIA Awards, certified Gold sales and was the highest charting album of Russell’s 50 year career to date debuting at No.4 on the overall ARIA Charts.

Russell has now arrived at the third and final album in the series of Australian stories. Also produced by Mitch Cairns, this album is titled “Red Dirt – Red Heart”, and the name belies its subject matter – The Australian Interior. Any history of Australia albeit, very brief, has to include the people who have inhabited this wonderful country for at least 40,000 years. Stories of two bushrangers, a song about a beautiful town, a song about a loner, a recluse, and an escape artist (gaol that is), a snake and the spectacular Nullabour. Also included is some of our great indigenous heroes in the hope that we can share their stories.



Melbourne – Victoria, Australia


Russell Morris

Russell Morris – guitar, vocals
Peter Robinson – guitar, vocals
Mitch Cairns – bass guitar, vocals
John Creech – drums, vocals